Meet the Coach – Dan Schuppan, Sunday 5 August

Sunday 5 August at 12:30pm…

Come down to Two Birds Brewing to meet Dan Schuppan, our newly appointed Club Coach. Dan is a former Geelong, Carlton and Keilor player, who brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to help us improve our cricket and further develop a strong culture at the club. He’s already been busy at work talking to key contacts at the club, and setting the foundations for a great year ahead. So come and hear his plan. He’s also a GREAT bloke by the way.

In other news, former Spotswood CC junior player Mac Short, a top order bat, is now back from a stint at Melbourne and Thilina Masmulla, an opening batsman, has signed with us too. A former Paxino medallist (best player in senior division), Thilina will head the batting for us. Allan Wise’s former left arm spinning Richmond teammate Matthew Sazenis, who has been overseas for a few years, will also be playing with us this year. And Gagen Sokhey is also back in town and keen to play again at Spotty.

A warm welcome to these new and returning faces and all returning Spotty players, in what promises to be a very exciting year at our Club. Get it started the right way on Sunday 5 August with our Meet the Coach day.

All our winners for season 2017-18

Here they are are – our winners for season 2017-18!

A very special mention to Carol Hore, who was presented with her Life Member medal on the night, for her extraordinary contribution to the club over so many years. Thank you Carol, from everyone at Spotswood Cricket Club.

And congratulations everyone below!

1st XI Batting : Gene Maurice 345 runs @ 31.36 avg
1st XI Bowling : Allan Wise 33 wickets @ 10.61 avg
2nd XI Batting : Leigh Forbes 244 runs @ 34.86 avg
2nd XI Bowling : Mathew Short 19 wickets @ 12.68 avg
3rd XI Batting : Michael McCarthy 487 runs @ 54.11 avg
3rd XI Bowling : Richard McCarthy 13 wickets @ 12.85 avg
4th XI Batting : Jason Dunham 111 runs @ 27.75 avg
4th XI Bowling : John Ross 21 wickets @ 7.42 avg
Women’s XI Batting: Liz Pierce 262 runs @ 37.43 avg
Women’s XI Bowling: Tara Crisp 12 wickets @ 25.83 avg
Roy Picone Award: Yvette Hollings
Best Club Person Award : Luke Jamieson
Lorraine Quinn Memorial Award: Jagger Skilbeck
And of course, our victorious 4th XI Premiers!

Outstanding performances:
Ross Horkins 101 Runs not out vs Tullamarine Senior division
Andrew Butler 146 Runs not out vs Yarraville Club Senior seconds
Daniel McNamara 100 Runs vs Tullamarine Senior seconds
Michael McCarthy 135 runs not out vs West Coburg North C1

Club Award:
VTCA Spirit of Cricket Award – highest combined point score in the umpires’ match reports for the spirit in which we approached the game. (1st and 2nd XI matches)

And with apologies for some dodgy camera work, here are some of our winners accepting their awards on the night.